Keeping it Real!

At times when I see some real creative school lunches with amazing dinosaurs made out of rice, I can’t help but chuckle.  How realistic is it first thing in the morning to create when your children are screaming for breakfast and you haven’t had a coffee yet?  Not possible.  My main objective is to keep it real.  You can make school lunches bright and cool without the Hollywood special effects.

Tip 1.

Shop for the week, usually on a Sunday night I’d do some shopping and buy the essentials. I’ll get fruits, cheeses, bread, croissants etc.  I’ll prepare the fruit by cutting them up and putting them in air tight container’s, put them in the fridge and bang! one less thing to do in the morning.

shopping-girls
Taking my girls shopping is an event on it’s own, heaps of fun!* conditions apply. lol.

 

Tip 2.

Don’t over do it! don’t try and spend more than 10 minutes on lunches. You should try and enjoy it and not make it a chore. Be creative with what you have! The beauty of fruit and veggies is that they’re colourful. Use the colours of the fruit and veggies to make the lunch box appealing, not plastic eyes, super hero’s and plastic animals. The focus is the food! Don’t let anything else to take away from the food…

Final Tip.

Challenge yourself by making it easier, not harder. Find ways to make it look better or neater in the easiest possible way.  Most times my best school lunch box creations are the quick 4 minute lunches that I rush through because one of my girls is yelling for help.

I would love to hear some of your tips too…

Leave a Reply

