How do I plan for lunches?

How do I plan for lunches?

I don’t usually know what I’m putting in the school lunch boxes till the morning.  Ideally I like to have a quick look the night before but most times I just go with the morning flow.

I like to know that I have bread, wraps or croissants in the pantry.  I do grocery shopping once or twice a week so I like to have fruit and veggies in the fridge ready to go.

So how do I do it?

Ok, here it goes.  Firstly I grab my chopping block and I open the fridge, I grab what I can see and I place it on the board.  I love grabbing the left over pasta from the night before as it makes it so easy.  If I’m in a rush and short of time I love using grapes, apples, banana’s and dried fruits, it minimises prep time.

I rarely use packaged food like muesli bars and chocolates, I prefer unwrapped food so I can keep the lunches as healthy as possible.

Help!

Having my partner in crime (wifey) help with my girls in the morning makes life easier.  She usually takes them off my hands once they finished their breakfast, that way I can get to work on time.  Having a helping hand is the key, especially in the mornings, however, if you are flying solo getting up earlier is the only thing I can suggest apart from prepping the night before.

Night Before

If you are a night before person, wash all the fruit and veggies and have them ready to go.  Ideally don’t cut the fruit or veggies as you don’t want them to go off or brown.

If you have any tips please share them…

Leave a Reply

