Shopping List

The lunch box

The first thing on my list would be an awesome bento box, why do I use the Stuck on You Bento Box? They’re an Australian company that are literally 5 minutes drive from me. Β However, most importantly, they give back into the community and they support a lot of mum’s in need through local charities, Geelong Mum’s is one. Β Any company that helps and supports mum’s and children in need wins my business. Β So now that I have my new personalised bento boxes, it’s time to rock!

lunch-boxes

Must have shopping items for the first week.

The following items are what I generally always have in the cupboard or fridge.

  • hi fibre white bread sliced (always soft and easy to use)
  • packet of Croissants (pack of 4 usually from Coles)
  • packet of wholemeal wraps (I use the Mission ones, so many varieties of flavours)

You can freeze the bread, croissant and wraps so they will last a couple of weeks, you can take out the slices the night before so they defrost.

  • bag of carrots
  • packet of mini cucumbers
  • punnet of melody tomatoes

These are generally the vegetables I use, they usually last for a week x 2 lunch boxes per day.

  • few hundred grams of grapes
  • 5 apples
  • 2 avocado’s
  • 1 mango
  • 1 punnet of strawberries
  • quarter of a watermelon
  • honey dew melon or a rock melon
  • 2 pears
  • blueberries (far out they’re expensive sometimes)
  • 2 kiwi fruit

The fruit will always vary depending on what’s in season. Be picky when picking the fruit, it’s OK to try before you buy, but don’t get caught!

  • packet penne pasta
  • box of crackers (salt reduced and baked)
  • packet of cheese sticks, go for the salt reduced please.
  • packet of grated cheese
  • ham, 6 slices should be enough for the week
  • eggs, I usually get a dozen only because my wife and I eat them too.
  • sliced turkey, 2 slices.
  • unsalted pop corn
  • Italian grissini (bread sticks)

If you have most of these you will be pretty much set for the week. I usually shop on Sunday’s and make it an adventure with my girls. It’s fun for the first 2 minutes!

You’ll be well covered if you have most of the above ingredients, I figure it will last a week or more, however, replenish fruit if it’s not right to eat.

My Rules

The only rule I abide by is washing the fruit and vegetables well, otherwise apart from this, there are no rules, be creative and rock those lunches. Β There is no right or wrong, limit sugar or cut it out altogether…

shopping-girls

Leave a Reply

